Contact Us

Our Team

Leadership Team

Gretta Pecl Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies / CMS
Kirsty Nash Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies / CMS
Jess Melbourne-Thomas CSIRO Oceans & Atmosphere / CMS
Camilla Novaglio Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies / CMS
Karen Alexander Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies / CMS

Traditional and Indigenous Working Group

[oxy-infinite-scroller ct_sign_sha256='2ec540e4ecefef4448dd271af662475df7a06d2cf5ea9b46d0bf88a9ccaa1fba' ct_options='{"ct_id":1183,"ct_parent":173,"selector":"-infinite-scroller-1183-273"}']
Zau Lunn
Fauna & FLora International Myanmar Programme
Jamie Graham-Blair
Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies, Australia
Jamie Graham-Blair is a trawlwoolway pakana who is currently studying a Bachelor of Marine and Antarctic Science in nipaluna/Hobart. Specialising in ecology and conservation at UTAS’ IMAS he uses both traditional and Western understandings of his island to teach the younger generations of Tasmania through his work as a cultural educator with @nitaeducation. An artist @muka_nita on Instagram and a regional coordinator for @seedmob his efforts all work towards the very large goal of caring for country in the face of climate catastrophe.
Rita Lukkarinen
Snowchange Cooperative, Finland Designer, Photographer.
Rita has been designing all Snowchange publications since 2005. She is married to Eero Murtomäki and lives in Petsmo close to Vaasa, Finland.
Eero Murtomäki
Snowchange Cooperative, Finland Hunter, Photographer.
Eero is the Snowchange Elder in Residence, originally from Vaasa, but now from the community of Mustasaari. His career, spanning almost 60 years, has included several nature photography books, films, work for nature conservation and achievements in the fields of international science and cultural diversity. Eero is the recipient of several awards, including the “Environmental Award” by Alliance for Finnish Nature.
Tero Mustonen
Snowchange Cooperative, Finland.
Tero is a passionate defender of traditional worldview and cosmology of his people, and head of Selkie village in North Karelia, Finland. He has contributed to the Arctic Biodiversity Assessment and IPCC. He works for the award-winning Snowchange Cooperative, with the communities of Eastern Sámi, Chukchi, Yukaghir, Sakha, Evenk, Even, Inuit, Inuvialuit, Gwitchin and many more. He is a winter seiner and has won several human rights and environmental awards for the work with Snowchange and indigenous peoples of the Arctic. He is also an adopted full status member of the Kwakwakwala First Nation based in British Columbia, Canada.
Halfdan Pedersen
Pikkoritta Consult, Aasiaat, Greenland
Translator for Nuunoq (Per Ole Frederiksen).
1 2 3

Team Members

[oxy-infinite-scroller ct_sign_sha256='e5f4934843a846a4bfb1ba55a9f7ceeac905917aa5629a18d50fa2ebb41a9087' ct_options='{"ct_id":1173,"ct_parent":11,"selector":"-infinite-scroller-1173-273","original":{"oxy-infinite-scroller_infinite_trigger":"scroll","oxy-infinite-scroller_scroll_threshold":"100"},"activeselector":false}']
Reuben Makomere
School of Law, University of Tasmania
Clive McMahon
Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies, University of Tasmania
Ian Dutton
DPIPWE, Tasmania
Director of Marine Resources
Dugald Tinch
Tasmanian School of Business and Economics / CMS
Larelle Bossi
Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies / CMS
Geoff Syme
Piers Dunstan
CSIRO Oceans and Atmosphere
Angela Abolhassani
School of Law, University of Tasmania / CMS
Maree Fudge
Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies, University of Tasmania / CMS
1 2 3 11

future seas

FUTURE SEAS is a unique collaboration , spear-headed by the Centre for Marine Socioecology, of over 100 researchers from the University of Tasmania (UTAS), the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) and other institutions
Contact Us
Copyright 2022 Future Seas.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram